Tour de France 2022 : Stage 21 – Philipsen bossed the Champs; Vingegaard TdF Champion

It’s going to be a short but sweet recap of Stage 21 of the 2022 Tour de France. Jasper Philipsen of Alpecin-Deceuninck took the final sprint by a country mile. Dylan Groenewegen (BikeExchange-Jayco) and Alexander Kristoff (Intermarche-Wanty-Goubert) took second and third respectively. Jonas Vingegaard came across the line with his Jumbo team, winning the maillot jaune, with Tadej Pogacar (UAE) and Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) in second and third respectively. The green jersey was won by Wout van Aert, the KOM is another jersey for Vingegaard, and the young rider’s jersey stays with Pogacar. Ineos Grenadiers win the Team Classification and van Aert was awarded the Super Combativity Award.

Continue reading

Tour de France 2022 : Stage 20 – Wout won, Jonas seals yellow as flying, crying Jumbo takes 1-2

All the emotions exploded at the finish line of today’s 20th stage of the Tour de France. Jumbo Visma’s Wout van Aert took the stage win, while teammate Jonas Vingegaard came home in second place, cementing his overall win.

Tadej Pogacar (UAE), Geraint Thomas and Filippo Ganna (INEOS) rounded out the top 5 on the stage.

On the GC, Aleksandr Vlasov of Bora moved into the top 5 and Romain Bardet (DSM) jumped up to 7th. Louis Meintjes (Wanty) took a drop to 8th.

Continue reading

Tour de France 2022 : Stage 19 – Christophe Laporte makes French Hearts Sing

Stage 19 saw Christophe Laporte claim his first plushie on a Tour de France podium to give Jumbo-Visma their fifth victory and the French their first. Can you hear La Marseillaise? The flying French Jumbo Bee jumped to the three man leading group in the last kilometre, then surged in the finale to come over the line with sheer disbelief and joy written large on his face. In a missed opportunity for the fast men, Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck) pipped Team DSM’s Alberto Dainese for second place in the bunch sprint.  Despite some nervous moments for due echelon action, ill timed mechanicals and yet another protest, the GC remains unchanged. Not that it stopped Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team-Emirates) from trying his luck to grab a few seconds back on the yellow jersey Jonas Vingegaard along the way.

Continue reading