Vuelta a Espana 2020 : Stage 18 – Ackermann aces final stage, Roglic wins overall again

As we wave farewell to professional cycling for another season on the final day of the 2020 Vuelta, Pascal Ackermann (BORA-hansgrohe) won the close bunch sprint in Madrid ahead of Sam Bennett (Deceuninck-QuickStep) and Max Kanter (Sunweb). Primoz Roglic (Jumbo Visma) now has consecutive Vuelta titles, with Richard Carapaz (INEOS) and Hugh Carty (EF Cycling) second and third respectively.

Elisa Balsamo (Valcar Travel) won the last stage of the Ceratizit Challenge by La Vuelta on the circuit in Madrid ahead of Lorena Wiebes (Sunweb) and Marta Bastianelli (Alé BTC Ljubljana). Lisa Brennauer (Ceratizit WNT) defended the leader’s red jersey to also take back-to-back titles ahead of Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek Segafredo) and Wiebes.

Continue reading

Gent-Wevelgem review: Sagan victory overshadowed by tragic crash

At the time of writing, Antoine Demoitié of Team Wanty-Gobert was in very serious condition in hospital after a crash in today’s Gent-Wevelgem. The details of the crash are sketchy but reports say that Demoitié crashed and then was hit by a moto. All our thoughts and hopes are with him and his family. I honestly hope that if I update this paragraph later, it’s to say that he is out of danger.
Continue reading