La Fleche Wallonne 2018: van der Breggan and Alaphilippe conquer the Huy

La Fleche Wallonne always comes down to the lactic-filled effort on the Mur de Huy and this edition was no different. Anna van der Breggan (Boels-Dolmans) took her fourth consecutive title atop the iconic climb, chasing down Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Cervelo-Bigla) in the closing metres. Third place for Megan Guarnier gave the Dutch team two on the podium. The men’s race was just – just WOW! Quick-Step Floor’s Julian Alaphilippe finally claimed the top step of the podium. Kicking once to zoom past eventual third-placed Jelle Vanendert (Lotto-Soudal) and again to keep the five-time champion Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) behind him.

Continue reading