Tour Down Under: Simon Gerrans has the fourth

Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) picked up his fourth Tour Down Under victory (2006, 2012, 2014, 2016) by strategically picking up bonus seconds wherever he could, cemented them with two back-to-back stage wins and followed those up with a heroic ride up Willunga Hill on the queen stage. Performances on that stage also catapulted new BMCer Richie Porte (his third consecutive victory here) and Sergio Henao (Team Sky) onto the final podium.  Continue reading

Giro stage 17: Pirazzi escapes to glory

Stage 17: Sarnonico to Vittorio Veneto, 208km

Coming immediately after yesterday’s brutal queen stage, today was always going to be a day of recuperation for the overall contenders and the sprinters who’ve stuck it out over the climbs. Sure enough, winner Stefano Pirazzi escaped from a massive breakaway to take glory, with the peloton rolling in over 15 minutes down. Continue reading