Gent-Wevelgem 2017: Greg Van Avermaet takes an historic triple win

Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) is going to need an extra shelf in his trophy cabinet with his history-making trio of victories at Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, E3 Harelbeke and now Gent-Wevelgem. Indeed, he’s the first man to take all three in the same season since 1981. With the peloton bearing down, the Olympic Champion held off Orica-Scott’s Jens Keukeleire in a two-up sprint, after a nerve-jangling run to the line. Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) finished a disgruntled third after being part of the winning move of the day.
Continue reading