VeloVoices Awards 2018: Rider of the Year (Women)

Six of the most kick-ass riders of 2018 all nominated by the rather wonderful Lukas Knöfler. And yes, I’m sorry but you can only choose one of them! Vote now, or let us know in the comments if you have another name to throw in the hat.

Previous winners: 2016 – Megan Guarnier; 2017 – Annemiek van Vleuten

Continue reading

Tour de France 2018 Stage 10 : Alaphilippe and Van Avermaet thrill at Le Grand-Bornand

Ring those bells and hang out the bleu-blanc-rouge bunting, stage 10 of the Tour de France gave us a French victory full of fight and Gallic flair!!! Julian Alaphilippe attacked on the first of five climbs to force the break, teased all his companions to breaking point, before launching a solo raid on the Col de Romme that no one could match. One seat-of-the-pants Col de la Colombière descent later, and he was over the finish line in tears of joy to claim his first Tour de France victory and a trip to the King of the Mountains podium as well. Race leader Greg Van Avermaet was simply majestic. Not only did he get into the break, he climbed like a mountain goat to finish fourth and extend his lead to over 2 minutes on a whole flock of GC contenders.

Continue reading