Milan-SanRemo 2018 : The Shark jumps the peloton on the Poggio

This year’s Milan-SanRemo started with rain and ended in sunshine – and it was a very mixed bagged for the riders as well. There was disappointment along the way with crashes that saw Andre Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) break his collarbone and Mark Cavendish (Team Dimension DAta) hit an unmarked, unattended bollard at speed, causing him to flip over and land horrifically hard on his back. There was of course elation as well, with Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) doing what everyone thought he would do (attacking on the Poggio) but surprised everyone by making it stick! In a nail-biting final kilometre, he kept the chasing pack at bay to win his third career Monument by a few bike lengths over Caleb Ewan (Mitchelton-Scott) and Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ). It’s an edition to remember. Continue reading

Strade Bianche 2018: Benoot and van der Breggen take their first Strade

It was cold and rainy, which meant we had a mudfest in Tuscany for the 12th edition of Strade Bianche. Race favourites Peter Sagan, Michal Kwaitkowski and Zdenek Stybar missed the decisive selection, when Romain Bardet (Ag2r) attacked on the eighth sector, but Wout Van Aert (Verandas Willems-Crelan) did, joining the Frenchman in front. Working together to hold enough of a gap to crush the spirits of various chasing groups, it was only the Belgian rider Tiesj Benoot (Lotto-Soudal) who could catch them – and ultimately drop them – on the way into Siena. In the rain-soaked women’s race, Anna van der Breggen sounded a warning to her rivals with an emphatic solo win over Kasia Niewiadoma and Elisa Longo Borghini.

Continue reading

Omloop 2018: A double Danish Omloop day with Valgren and Siggaard

Biting wind, the smell of frites n’ beer in the air and cobbles. YES! The spring classics season is upon us and the new look parcours for Omloop Het Nieuwsblad produced two Danish Viking victories. A non-stop thriller of a men’s finale saw Astana play a three-up blinder and Michael Valgren attack at the opportune moment to take a solo victory. Sky’s Lukasz Wisniowski took second and Sep Vanmarcke (EF Education First-Drapac p/b Cannondale) repeated his third place from 2017. In the women’s race, Christina Siggaard (Team Virtu Cycling Women) won the bunch sprint from Alexis Ryan (Canyon SRAM) and Maria Confalonieri (Valcar PBM).

Continue reading