Vuelta a Espana 2020 : Stage 6 – Izagirre wins the stage while Carapaz snatches red39

Stage 6 of the Vuelta a Espana was a wet and wild one for the race ending on the mist-shrouded slopes of the Formigal. Astana’s Ion Izagirre won from a mega breakaway, assisted by his brother Gorka. The GC group fractured mightily on the final ramp with leader Primoz Roglic (Jumbo) unable to stay with his attackers. Ineos’s Richard Carapaz moved into red on a day that smashed the GC into smithereens. Continue reading

Giro d’Italia 2020 : Stage 21 – Ganna takes the stage; Geoghegan Hart takes the trophy

After the high drama in the high mountains this last week, it came down to a time trial to settle the maglia rosa. It should come as no surprise to anyone that the winner of the stage – by a smackdown 32sec – was Filippo Ganna (Ineos). And, as much as there were people out there who wanted a Jai Hindley win (although you wouldn’t know if you were listening to Eurosport), it was no surprise that Tao Geoghegan Hart unseated the Sunweb rider to raise the beautiful Trofeo Senza Fine. Wilco Kelderman took the third step of the podium.

Continue reading