FINAL KM: Volta ao Algarve St 3; Ruta del Sol St 3; Tour des Alpes Maritimes et du Var St.1

Danish delight, a troublesome final corner, magnificent sprints and a win from the break of the day. Don’t you just love the variation this sport provides?

Stage 3, Volta ao Algarve em BicicletaIa

Last chance for the sprinters and Cees Bol took full advantage for Team Sunweb. The Dutchman was delivered on the button by teammate Casper Pedersen and once he hit the front with 200m to go there was little anyone could do to catch him. Fast finishing Sacha Modolo (Alpecin Fenix) claimed second from Deceuninck Quickstep’s Fabio Jakobsen. Remco Evenepoel retains the race lead from Max Schachmann (BORA-hansgrohe) with Dan Martin (UAE-Team Emirates) moving up to third overall .

Full race report here

That certain smile…

Made me smile…

Embed from Getty Images

Three Trek-Segafredo riders were involved in a very nasty crash at a road island. Not ideal with the opening salvo of the Spring Classics just a week away. Speedy recovery guys.

Race Website  VAlgarve2020 #VAlgarve2020

Stage 3 ,Vuelta a Andalucia Ruta Ciclista Del Sol

Holy moly what a finish! There was constant attacking from the lead group as they navigated the streets of Ubeda. Dylan Teuns (Bahrain McLaren) and Mitchelton-Scott’s Jack Haig looked in pole position for victory until both completely missed the last corner –  leaving Jakob Fuglsang (Astana) to race away and grab his second stage win from Pello Bilbao (Bahrain McLaren). Brandon McNulty (UAE-Team Emirates) rounded out the podium

It’s Fuglsang and Astana versus the massed ranks of Bahrain McLaren for the overall. Stay Alert Birdsong!

Missed corner, missed opportunities

Full race report here

Race Website @VCANDALUCIA #66rds

Stage 1, Tour des Alpes Maritimes et du Var

Sadly there appears to be no live coverage for the renamed Tour de Haut Var. However, the startlist is packed with stars –  so we’ll keep a weather eye and let you know what’s happening. First stage winning honours went to the Mighty ‘dis and Anthony Perez. He and  Anthony Turgis (Total Direct Energie) were the last riders standing from the 4 man break of the day. LOVE IT when a breakaway goes all the way to the line. Sunweb’s Michael Storer won the chase bunch sprint for third.  Nairo Quintana (Arkea -Samsic), Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ), Richie Porte (Trek-Segafredo) and VeloVoice favourite Fausto Masnada (CCC) all finish on the same time at +6secs.

A win for the Mighty ‘dis means only one thing – the VICTORY GIF

Nothing but the truth here – In paradise

Full race report here

Race Website #Tour0683

Header image: © Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

Leave a Reply