FINAL KM: Etoile des Besseges St 5; Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana St 5; Bat Champs

Wrapping up those feisty early European stage races and delivering South African national championship news.

Stage 5, Etoile des Besseges

The 50th edition of Etoile finished with the traditional Ales TT  – complete with a leg-breaker of an uphill finish. Alberto Betiol (EF Pro Cycling) left everything on the road to take victory in the final time trial, beating his teammate and points jersey winner Magnus Cort by 9secs. Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R La Mondiale) did more than enough to retain his race lead, Bettiol moved to second place with Alexys Brunel (Groupama FDJ) securing third step of the podium and the best young rider jersey. Georg Zimmerman (CCC) went home with the polkadots.

Everything given…

He never stops attacking

The men in pink had a successful week, here’s the news from one of their own.

Let’s hope all their TT performance training bodes well for Monsier Bardet come July

Race Website  @Etoile_Besseges  #etoiledebesseges #EDB2020

Stage 5, Volta la Comunitat Valenciana

Fabio Jakobsen and his Deceuninck Quickstep squad finally get their sprint victory. The Dutch national champion was delivered perfectly by his poisson-pilote Davide Ballerini, leaving the not inconsiderable sprinting talent of Dylan Groenewegen (Jumbo-Visma) and John Degenkolb (Lotto Soudal) to second and third respectively. The final GC remained unchanged with Tadej Pogacar (UAE-Team Emirates) taking the title by 6 seconds from Jack Haig (Mitchelton-Scott) and Tao Geoghegan Hart (Ineos).

Third time’s the charm for Fabio…


Delight on the podium

Final podiums

Embed from Getty Images

GC: Pogacar, Haig and Geoghegan Hart

Points: Groenewegen

Best Young Rider: Pogacar

Polka dots: Serrano Gonzalo (Caja Rural – Seguros RGA)

Team: Bahrain-McLaren

Full race report here

Race Website  @VueltaCV #VCV

National Championships, Women’s South African Road Race

Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio  (CCC- Liv) has all the racing jersey bases covered  as she adds the RR title to her triumph in the TT

Header image: © Photo by David Ramos/Getty Images

Leave a Reply