Final KM 2020: Vuelta a San Juan, Stage 7; GP Cycliste la Marseillaise; Challenge Mallorca; Colombian RR Champs

It’s still early in the race calendar but we are gathering pace in races around the world. All the race news from the first Sunday in February is below.

Stage 7, Vuelta a San Juan

The Argentinian stage race wrapped up with a third stage win for in-form UAE Team-Emirates Fernando Gaviria. The Colombian speedster had just too much firepower for BORA-hansgrohe’s Peter Sagan and Alvaro Hodeg (Deceuninck Quickstep). After completing his leadout role for Hodeg, best young rider Remco Evenepoel climbed to the top step of the podium to claim the overall title – a position he has held since the time trial on stage three. Filippo Ganna (Italy) was second at +33secs with Oscar Sevilla (Team Medellin) at +1.01min. Cofidis’ Martin Guillaume  goes home with the polka dots while Movistar start as they mean to go with victory in the team classification.

It would be remiss not to include a Cofidis gif at this point

Full race results are here     Race Website   @vueltasanjuanok  #VueltaSJ2020

Grand Prix Cycliste La Marseillaise

The traditional French season opener is always a feisty affair. Four riders broke clear in the finale and  AG2R La Mondiale’s  Benoit Cosnefroy snatched victory in the dive to the line. Groupama FDJ’s Valentin Madouas and Tom Devriendt (Circus-Wanty Gobert) rounded out the podium, with Jesus Herrada (Cofidis) just missing out. First points in the season-long Coupe de France go to the men in brown.

Race Website   @GPLMarseillaise  #GPLM

Trofeo Playa de Palma – Palma : Challenge Mallorca

Last race in the Challenge Mallorca series and Matteo Moschetti takes the double for Trek-Segafredo. A very handy breakaway was pulled back on the finishing circuits and the Italian  made no mistake as he flew past BORA-Hansgrohe’s Pascal Ackermann in the final 50m with Andrea Pasqualon holding third for Circus-Wanty Gobert.

Colombian Road Race Championships.

Seems EF Pro Cycling will have two Colombian national champions in their midst for 2020 as Sergio Higuita takes the road race title with a solo victory. Team Ineos had a torrid day with both Ivan Sousa and Egan Bernal involved in nasty crashes in the finale. The former as he was contesting for the win with Higuita, although Bernal recovered well to take second place. Race report here

Header image: ©Maximiliano Blanco/Getty Images)

Leave a Reply