Paris-Roubaix 2019: Philippe Gilbert wins his cobble

It’s the Queen of the Classics and Paris-Roubaix 2019 did not disappoint. With the peloton hitting full gas from Kilometre 0, the race ebbed and flowed with chaos and echelons all day long. With no break being allowed to get

for very long, the peloton went full pelt through the cobbled sectors until Philippe Gilbert (Deceuninck-QuickStep) and Katusha’s Nils Politt made the move that broke the race apart, as they were joined by defending champion Peter Sagan (Bora-hansgrohe), Sep Vanmarcke (EF-Education First), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) and PhilGil’s teammate Yves Lampaert. Working together until about 10km to go, it was soon down to Gilbert and Politt, with the Belgian winning the sprint in the Velodrome. Lampaert came third. That was the short version of what happened … but whoa, this race gave so much more than a victory.

Continue reading