Final KM: Santos Tour Down Under Stage 4

Mitchelton-Scott’s Daryl Impey showed exactly why he’s the defending champion when he swooped into Campbelltown to claim victory and the 10 second bonification.

Stage 4: Unley to Campbelltown, 129.2km

The Adelaide Hills and the Corkscrew climb provided the perfect parcours to test those with GC ambitions. A dangerous group of four led by Jumbo-Visma’s George Bennett got away from race leader Patrick Bevin (CCC) on the climb but he threw everything into the descent to get back on. As a reduced group charged into the finish,yesterday’s podium riders came to the front again. Luis Leon Sanchez has metres to spare coming out of the last corner but could not hold on to keep ahead of Bevin or Impey.

Bevin now holds the ochre jersey by 7 secs from Impey with Sanchez in third at +11secs

Fun Stat

All the stages have been won by national champions

Stage 1: Elia Viviani (Italian  RR champion)

Stage 2: Patrick Bevin (New Zealand TT champion)

Stage 3: Peter Sagan (Slovak RR champion)

Stage 4: Daryl Impey (South African RR champion)

Any guesses on the remaining stages?

Another first for 2019

Thomas de Gendt in a break and winning the most combative rider award. The first of many we are sure!!!!

Corkscrew Climb

It’s a short sharp, shocker of a climb made more so by the run into and the scarily fast descent from it.

Full report at Cycling News.

Race Website  Race Twitter #tourdownunder

Header image: ©Tim de Waele/Getty Images

One thought on “Final KM: Santos Tour Down Under Stage 4

Leave a Reply